We Ride for Africa

The project

Skate Gal Club: The first club to empower girls and women through skateboarding.

Created by women and for women, the club is the little sister of Surf Ghana – the first collective to develop skateboarding and surfing in Ghana since 2016. The ambition is to cultivate the talent of young female skateboarders and create the best possible ecosystem for them to train and compete on the local scene.

Impact Location(s) : Ghana

Read more

It is a free monthly meet-up created in 2019 with the aim of contributing to the empowerment and emancipation of women through skateboarding and artistic workshops. At the Skate Gal Club’s very first event, more than 60 girls showed up, and they have since taught more than 200 other young women to skateboard.

In addition to these meetings, its active members are working on the creation of a fanzine-style magazine “made in Ghana”: Art & Skate in favour of the social integration of women in Ghana and dedicated to the practice of skateboarding in Ghana. A project initiated during the Covid-19 crisis carried out exclusively by the female members of the Surf Ghana sports collective to support and develop the creativity of young women unable to practice their favourite sport, skateboarding. A project also aiming to restore the balance of women’s participation in a predominantly male sport ecosystem.

“Our collective craves a space to call women, where they don’t have to feel threatened, hit on, talked over, or mansplained to. Where they can learn from each other, feel positive and get inspired. We hope with this project that we can create a better equal representation of women and men. Through extreme sport, women practice being open and authentically themselves, we think that we help give them the courage to feel more comfortable in Ghana, knowing that a skate gal club is here and got their back. So, until we see parity in Ghana or Africa in general, we are honoured to keep hosting these events and supporting this extraordinary group of young Ghanaian women.” 

 

Key Figures 

  • 15 sporting events (initiation, competition, festivals, solidarity trips)
  • 230 sports equipment collected
  • +2000 students participated in the association’s surfing and skateboarding course.
  • 16 young people have started a professional activity related to skateboarding and surfing.
  • 12 girls are actively skateboarding and are able to participate in international competitions.
  • A digital community of 8500 members

How are donations used? 

Donations received throughout the year are used for the following purposes:

  • Importing and distributing the material collected in Europe
  • Providing weekly courses by sports coaches in Ghana in the city of Accra / Kumasi / Busua
  • Organize an annual solidarity sports trip
  • Creating the future skatepark for the future city of Accra
  • Create a new surf school in the village of Busua
  • Creation of the magazine Art & Skate by the Skate Gal Club

The organization carrying the project 

Created by Sandy Alibo in 2017, We ride for Africa is the non-profit organization that carries the Surf Ghana and Skate Gal Club projects. The more global mission of the non-profit organization is to encourage the practice of board sports and eco-citizen actions in West Africa in favor of children, teenagers and young adults. The association participates in the development of children’s schooling through the establishment of partnerships with qualified organizations: school outings with initiation to board sports, sponsorship of young athletes to facilitate their return to school.

 

We Ride for Africa aims to use the practice of board sports as a tool for education, social integration and skills development with the objective of equipping West Africa by collecting used equipment dedicated to the practice of board sports. The association organizes cultural and sports events and has the ambition to create sports facilities such as skateparks, or living spaces dedicated to the culture of board sports. Board sports are growing in West Africa: to encourage the transfer of skills to West Africa, particularly through the discovery of professions related to the practice of board sports and through international sporting and cultural exchanges, helps to create a virtuous ecosystem of exchange for all dedicated to socio-professional integration.

more info

AZICKIA

Each year, Azickia provides financial support to several impact projects through donations. If you wish to support them as well, you too can make a donation here, via the secure French platform HelloAsso. Your donation will be 100% allocated to the project of your choice and will be added to the donation already made by Azickia ! Good news : Our foundation is a non-profit organization eligible to the French tax reduction system for charitable giving. You will therefore receive a tax receipt from HelloAsso following your donation.

We Ride for Africa – Surf Ghana

faire un don *

le projet

Le premier club sportif pour favoriser l’éducation et l’émancipation des jeunes femmes au Ghana par le skateboard. 

Lieu(x) d’impact : Ghana 

Créé par des femmes et pour les femmes, le club est la petite sœur de Surf Ghana – le premier collectif développant la pratique du skate et surf au Ghana depuis 2016. L’ambition est de cultiver le talent des jeunes skateuses et de leur créer le meilleur écosystème possible pour qu’elles puissent s’entraîner et s’imposer sur la scène locale.

Il s’agit d’une rencontre mensuelle gratuite créée en 2019 avec pour objectif de contribuer à l’autonomisation et l’émancipation des femmes par le biais du skateboard et d’ateliers artistiques. Lors du tout premier événement du Skate Gal Club, plus de 60 filles se sont présentées, et elles ont depuis appris le skate à plus de 200 autres jeunes femmes.

En parallèle de ces rencontres, ses membres actifs travaillent sur la création d’un magazine type fanzine  « made in Ghana » : Art & Skate en faveur de l’intégration sociale des femmes au Ghana et dédié à la pratique du skateboard au Ghana. Un projet initié durant la crise Covid-19 réalisé exclusivement par les membres féminins du collectif sportif Surf Ghana pour soutenir et développer la créativité des jeunes femmes dans l’incapacité de pratiquer leur sport favori, le skateboard. Un projet visant aussi à rééquilibrer la participation des femmes dans un eco-système sportif majoritairement masculin.

“Le collectif Surf Ghana a créé cet espace dédié aux femmes, où elles peuvent se sentir libres d’être qui elles sont, sans peur d’être jugées ou prises de haut. Un espace où elles peuvent apprendre les unes des autres, se sentir optimistes et inspirées. Nous espérons qu’avec ce projet, nous pourrons créer une meilleure représentation et une représentation égalitaire des femmes et des hommes. Grâce aux sports extrêmes, les femmes apprennent à s’ouvrir davantage et à rester authentiques. Notre souhait est de contribuer à leur bien-être et leur épanouissement en leur donnant le courage de se sentir plus libres chez elles, au Ghana, tout en sachant qu’elles peuvent compter sur ce collectif pour les soutenir en cas de besoin.  Ainsi, jusqu’à ce que l’égalité homme-femme soit atteinte au Ghana et que chacun et chacune ait la possibilité de pratiquer le hobby qu’il souhaite, nous continuerons à accueillir ces événements et à soutenir ce groupe extraordinaire de jeunes femmes ghanéennes.”

Chiffres clés 

  • 15 événements sportifs (initiation, compétition, festivals, voyages solidaires)
  • 230 équipements sportifs collectés
  • +2000 élèves ont participé au cours de surf et de skate de l’association
  • 16 jeunes ont démarré une activité professionnelle en lien avec le skate et au surf
  • 12 filles pratiquent activement le skateboard et sont en capacité à participer à des compétitions internationales.
  • Une communauté digitale de 8500 membres

Comment sont utilisés les dons ? 

Les dons reçus toute l’année permettent les actions suivantes:

  • Importer et distribuer le matériel récolté en Europe
  • Assurer les cours hebdomadaires par des coachs sportifs au Ghana dans la ville d’Accra / Kumasi / Busua
  • Organiser un voyage sportif annuel solidaire
  • Créer le futur skatepark pour la future ville d’Accra
  • Créer une nouvelle école de surf dans le village de Busua
  • Création du magazine Art & Skate 

L’association 

Créée par Sandy Alibo en 2017, We ride for Africa est l’association qui porte les projets Surf Ghana et Skate Gal Club. La mission plus globale de l’association est d’encourager la pratique des sports de glisse et d’actions éco-citoyennes en Afrique de l’Ouest en faveur des enfants, adolescents et jeunes adultes. L’association participe à l’épanouissement des enfants dans leur scolarité à travers la mise en place de partenariats avec des organismes habilités : sorties scolaires avec initiation aux sports de glisse, parrainage de jeunes sportifs pour faciliter leur réinsertion scolaire.

We Ride for Africa utilise ainsi la pratique des sports de glisse comme un outil d’éducation, d’insertion sociale et de développement de compétences avec pour objectif d’équiper l’Afrique de l’Ouest en collectant du matériel usagé dédié à la pratique des sports de glisse. L’association organise des évènements culturels et sportifs et a pour ambition de créer des infrastructures sportives tels que des skateparks, ou lieux de vie dédiés à la culture des sports de glisse. Les sports de glisse prennent de l’ampleur en Afrique de l’Ouest : favoriser le transfert de compétences vers l’Afrique de l’Ouest notamment par la découverte des métiers liés à la pratique des sports de glisse et via des échanges sportifs et culturels internationaux permet ainsi de créer un écosystème vertueux d’échange pour tous voué à l’insertion socio-professionnelle. 

+ d'infos

AZICKIA

* Chaque année, Azickia soutient plusieurs projets par le biais de dons. Si vous souhaitez les soutenir vous aussi, vous pouvez leur faire un don ici, via la plateforme sécurisée HelloAsso. Votre don sera reversé à 100% au projet de votre choix et viendra s’ajouter au don déjà réalisé par Azickia. La bonne nouvelle : notre fonds de dotation est un organisme à but non lucratif éligible au Régime fiscal français du mécénat. Vous recevrez donc un petit reçu de la part de HelloAsso pour pouvoir bénéficier de la déduction fiscale.